Skip to main content

Table 2 Different types of myocardial infarction

From: Cardiac biomarkers in the intensive care unit

Types of myocardial infarction Clinical classification
Type 1 Spontaneous myocardial infarction related to ischemia due to primary coronary event.
Type 2 Myocardial infarction secondary to ischemia due to increased oxygen demand or decreased supply, e.g., coronary artery spasm, coronary embolism, anemia, arrhythmias, hypertension, or hypotension.
Type 3 Sudden, unexpected cardiac death with symptoms and signs of cardiac ischemia. Death occurs before blood cardiac biomarkers able to be measured.
Type 4a Myocardial infarction associated with percutaneous
Type 4b Myocardial infarction associated with stent thrombosis as documented by angiography or at autopsy.
Type 5 Myocardial infarction associated with coronary artery bypass surgery.
  1. Abridge version based on Reference [8]